Tobacco Free Lake County
Smoke-Free Laws and Policies
Use the links on the right to find all topics on Tobacco Free Lake County’s website.
What is the Smoke-Free Illinois Act?
The Smoke-Free Illinois Act (410 ILCS 82; Public Act 095-0017) is a comprehensive anti-smoking law that took effect in Illinois on January 1, 2008 and bans smoking in most buildings and vehicles used by the general public, used as a place of employment, or owned by the government or other public body.
All indoor public places and workplaces must be smoke-free, including 15 feet from doors, windows and vents. This includes private clubs, public transportation, government vehicles, and common ares of multi-unit housing. There are some exemptions for tobacco retailers, hotels, and long-term care facilities. For more details, see our handout: Smoke-Free Illinois FAQ for Businesses (107KB).
How do I report a violation of the Smoke-Free Illinois Act?
To report a violation, call 866.973.4646 or go to Smoke-Free Illinois. According to the Smoke-Free Illinois Act, indoor public places and workplaces must be smoke-free, including 15 feet from doors, windows, and vents. This includes private clubs, public transportation, government vehicles, and common areas of multi-unit housing. There are some exemptions for tobacco retailers, hotels, and long-term care facilities. For more details, see our handout Smoke-Free Illinois FAQ for Businesses (107KB).
My neighbor’s smoke bothers me. What can I do about it?
Check out these Tenant Action Steps (46KB) created by Americans for Nonsmoker’s Rights for a clear idea of what to do.
For help finding smoke-free apartments and other rental housing in Illinois. visit www.ilsmokfreehousing.org or www.showmetherent.com/IL where a smoke-free policy is one of the searchable amenities.
More information on secondhand smoke in apartment buildings is available on our Fact Sheets page. For help finding the information you need, don’t hesitate to call Tobacco Free Lake County at 847.377.8090.
How can Tobacco Free Lake County help me make my rental property smoke-free?
If you are a landlord seriously considering a smoke-free policy for one or more of your buildings, Tobacco Free Lake County can provide assistance with:
- Resident surveys
- Presentations to residents and/or staff
- Policy development
- Policy implementation such as signage and promotion
- Quit tobacco resources such as quit kits and on-site quit groups
Call us at 847-337-8090 or send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org and together we’ll develop a plan that is best for you, your property, and your residents. You can also get started on your own by reviewing our Smoke-Free Housing Landlord Toolkit (3MB) or taking the free online course offered by the American Lung Association (simply request a username and password at the provided email address).